Marriage Licenses

Marriage licenses are recorded with the Bexar County Clerk’s office. In order to apply for a license, both applicants must meet certain requirements and must present themselves in person at the County Clerk Marriage office in the Paul Elizondo Tower (101 W. Nueva, Suite 120). If one party is not available to be present, the other party or an adult representative may bring a completed and notarized Affidavit of Absent Applicant for Marriage License.

An informal marriage license can be obtained by a couple who has agreed to be married, and after the agreement, they live together in this state and represent themselves to others as married. An absent affidavit application cannot be used for the informal marriage license.

Please note that due to Covid-19, Honorable Lucy Adame-Clark will marry individuals that are Public Safety Law Enforcement Officers, Firefighters, Doctors, Nurses, Respiratory Technicians or Active Duty Military Members. Mrs. Adame-Clark will also accept appointment requests from individuals who have a marriage license that will expire within 21 days. You may request a marriage ceremony by filling out the form called Covid-19 Temporary Accommodations For Marriage Ceremony Appointment Request Form. If you are sick, or recently exposed or showing signs of being sick, please do not attempt to make a physical appearance in our office.

  1. Physical Address
    Paul Elizondo Tower
    101 W. Nueva, Suite 120
    San Antonio, TX 78205


    Hours:
    Monday - Friday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    (excluding County Holidays)

Additional Documents

COVID-19 TEMPORARY ACCOMMODATIONS FOR Marriage Ceremony

Honorable Lucy Adame-Clark will marry individuals:

  • If you are a Public Safety Law Enforcement, Firefighter, Doctor, Nurse, Respiratory Technician or Active Duty Military Member.
  • If your license is going to expire within 21days.

Please note that:

  • You will first have to fill out the form called Covid-19 Temporary Accommodations For Marriage Ceremony Appointment Request Form
  • It will be a brief ceremony.
  • The appointment will be restricted to only the parties involved and one witness, but a witness is not required for the marriage ceremony.
  • You must follow social distancing guidelines and wear face-mask if required by Bexar County.
  • Please call 210-335-2096 the week of scheduled marriage ceremony date to confirm there are no scheduling conflicts.

Getting Married

Once a marriage license has been issued by the County Clerk’s office, it is valid for 90 from the issue date, and is valid in any other county in the state of Texas. (Texas family code 2.001)

Per Texas law, there is a 72-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony may take place, except in the instances of the following exceptions:

  • If the applicants obtain a written waiver from a judge.
  • If one of the applicants is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States; the active duty military person must show identification.
  • If the applicants submit the premarital education course certificate from Twogether in Texas.
  • If applicants are remarrying each other.

Both parties must be present for the marriage ceremony, except in the instance where one party is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation and unable to attend the ceremony. Then an adult representative may be appointed to act as a proxy in the ceremony.

Officiants

The ceremony may be performed by the parties’ officiant of choice.

Name Changes

If a party wishes to change their name due to marriage, they may do so through the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Social Security Administration. However, the name on the marriage license will not change.

  1. License Requirements
  2. Applying for a License
  3. Recording & Copies

Marriage License Requirements

For full details on the requirements to receive a license, please review the requirements for a marriage license application in Bexar County document.

Requirements Summary

  • Both applicants must submit proof of age and identity by certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate, license, or document issued by the state of Texas or another state, the United States, or a foreign government.
  • Each applicant is required to present their social security number (if applicable).
  • The fee in cash or credit card:
    • Marriage License: $81.00
    • Informal Marriage License: $46.00
  • Applicants under 18 must present a certified copy of their court order "Removal of Disabilities of Minority" granted by the state of Texas or another state. (See Requirements for a Marriage License for full details.)
  • Neither applicant may have been divorced within the last 30 days unless they meet certain exceptions from this requirement.  (See Requirements for a Marriage License for full details.)
  • Additional requirements are listed in Requirements for a Marriage License.

For additional information, please call 210-335-2223.
To access a recorded message, please call 210-335-2221.