Awards & Recognitions

The Bexar Heritage & Parks Department strives to pursue excellence in the management of projects for Bexar County and has been recognized by the following industry organizations.

Thank you to the Texas Historic Commission for honoring Betty Bueché

Texas Historical Commission Logo

Named for pioneering Texas preservationist Ruth Lester of Jefferson, this award recognizes individuals who have made a significant, long-term contribution to historic preservation in Texas.

This award winner is nothing short of impressive. A native San Antonian, most of her life has been dedicated to historic preservation, conservation, and interpretation. 

She was the first female Park Superintendent with Texas Parks and Wildlife, founding Director of Los CoBAmpadres, and thrived in private practice before joining Bexar County, where she is the current Director of Bexar Heritage & Parks Department. 

In her time with Bexar County, she directed the largest facility construction and renovation program in the county’s history and lead the county through three years of events celebrating its 300th anniversary. 

Betty Bueche recieving the award from the Texas Historical Commission

Betty with Texas Historical Commission Executive Director Mark Wolfe (left) and THC Vice-Chair John Crain (right)



  • 2011 Refreshing Ideas Award: San Antonio Water System, Air conditioning condensation used for restored historic fountain, Bexar County Courthouse


  • 2010 Best Practices Award: Texas Association of Counties, Air conditioning condensation is used for the restored Lady Justice historic fountain at the Bexar County Courthouse
  • 2010 Award of Merit: Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, Exterior façade lighting design for historic Bexar County Courthouse