Regional Counties

The Alamo Area Council of Government (AACOG) serves the Alamo Area/State Planning Region 18, which covers 12 counties and 11,354 square miles. Defined as a political subdivision of the state of Texas, AACOG was established in 1967 under Chapter 391 of the Local Government Code as a voluntary association of local governments and organizations that serves its members through planning, information, and coordination activities.

Compromising the area planning region are the following counties:

Click to visit the AACOG website Opens in new windowAACOG Services
AACOG provides general technical assistance to member governments in their planning functions, preparation of applications, and the administration of area-wide programs. In addition, program specific technical assistance for regional planning in the areas of aging services, economic development, 9-1-1 systems, homeland security, criminal justice, resource recovery, air quality, transportation, weatherization, and workforce is also offered.

We also administer the Alamo Local Authority for Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities. In addition, AACOG sponsors special projects in response to local government needs or requests.

Support for these activities is provided through local dues, state appropriations, state and federal grants that are matched by local monies, and other public and private funds.

The mission of the Alamo Area Council of Governments is to enhance the quality of life of all residents of the Alamo Region in partnership with elected and appointed officials, funders, community partners and beneficiaries.

Alamo Area Council of Governments website